Tormented Mind

I just saw a video of myself preaching and even after all these years, I am still embarrassed and uncomfortable. It is like I am ashamed of the work God does through me. If the Lord is not ashamed to use me, why do I still become ashamed?

Obviously, I know the answer. I preached it in that very sermon I just watched. If God is for me, should I be against myself? If God is for me, should I care if others are against me? It should be a given that we become tormented in our minds to move forward in faith. The essence of faith is struggle. Faith is seeing with the eyes of our hearts, not the eyes in our heads. We need to push through the obstacles and issues while preaching to ourselves, “With God, all things are possible.”

If you are struggling today with yourself and your limitations, let me tell you…you are not alone! I am right there with you and I have been preaching the Word since I was 14. I am now 50. Now I understand why I read two times this morning in Isaiah 41 and Psalm 109, “I have done this.” Whether we interpret the circumstances, gifts and callings as good or bad, God has done it. We need to trust Him for ourselves. I am just thankful that He is not limited by our humanity. He sees us as saved, redeemed, sanctified and as saints. Oh Lord, help us to see what You see and live in the confidence of Your strength. –TL AdamsonIMG_0667

And I am sure of this, that He who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.     Philippians 1:6

2 thoughts on “Tormented Mind

  1. Wow! Now that’s a good word to ministers everywhere. The truth is God sees all the same weaknesses we do (and some others besides I’m thinking) but His strength is made perfect in our weakness. We may feel weak or unable or not enough and the truth is that’s OK because It’s all Him in us that makes the difference anyway! If I am not enough, He is!

  2. I am so very thankful for this post because I have suffered with this same wrestling, which at times has caused me to question my faith. What is so wonderfully hopeful and commands me to rejoice is that it was “He” that begun that work, which will be finished by Him. He is our Beginning and our Eternity and I am forever grateful to Jesus for His amazing love and amazing grace.

    Amen

Leave a Reply

